GST state code is required by the taxpayer while registering for GST. And also while entering GST invoice details in GST returns online. In this blog, we have listed the states and their respective state’s code.

A single indirect tax, GST was introduced to provide the entire country a unified tax regime. Upon obtaining a new GST registration, a business will receive a 15-digit GSTIN number. The number would be required while registering for GST and during GST returns.

The first two digits of the GSTIN number are the GST state code which represents the state. Every state has a different GST state code.

What is the Format of GSTIN?

GST state code list

Also Read: What Are The Documents Required For GST Registration In India?

The Goods and Services Tax Identification Number (GSTIN number) is 15-digit long consisting of 2 GST state code, 10-digit PAN number, 1-digit registration number, and a 2-digit check digit.

Now let’s take a look at the GST state code list.

Sr. No.



1.Jammu and KashmirGST State Code 01
2.Himachal PradeshGST State Code 02
3.PunjabGST State Code 03
4.ChandigarhGST State Code 04
5.UttarakhandGST State Code 05
6.HaryanaGST State Code 06
7.DelhiGST State Code 07
8.RajasthanGST State Code 08
9.Uttar PradeshGST State Code 09
10.BiharGST State Code 10
11.SikkimGST State Code 11
12.Arunachal PradeshGST State Code 12
13.NagalandGST State Code 13
14.ManipurGST State Code 14
15.MizoramGST State Code 15
16.TripuraGST State Code 16
17.MeghalayaGST State Code 17
18.AssamGST State Code 18
19.West BengalGST State Code 19
20.JharkhandGST State Code 20
21.OdishaGST State Code 21
22.ChattisgarhGST State Code 22
23.Madhya PradeshGST State Code 23
24.GujaratGST State Code 24
25.Daman and DiuGST State Code 25
26.Dadra and Nagar HaveliGST State Code 26
27.MaharashtraGST State Code 27
28.Andhra PradeshGST State Code 28
29.KarnatakaGST State Code 29
30.GoaGST State Code 30
31.LakshadweepGST State Code 31
32.KeralaGST State Code 32
33.Tamil NaduGST State Code 33
34.PuducherryGST State Code 34
35.Andaman and Nicobar IslandsGST State Code 35
36.TelanganaGST State Code 36
37.Andhra PradeshGST State Code 37

Want to read the latest posts on social media? Then follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn!