The E-Way bill for moving goods within a state will be mandatory from June 3, with a countrywide roll-out mechanism. The E-Way had been first rolled out by the government on April 1 for moving goods worth over Rs. 50,000 from one state to another.

So far, 20 states/Union Territories have made E Way Bill mandatory for intra-state movement of goods. Government sources have revealed that so far more than 4.5 crore e-way bills have been generated.

Get Instant Business Loan

The E way Bill has been touted as an anti-evasion measure. The transporter of goods worth over Rs. 50,000 would be required to present the E-Way Bill to a GST Inspector.

To read more on E-Way Bill, click here.
Read the original article on Firstpost by clicking here. 

Want to read the latest posts on social media? Then follow us on FacebookTwitter, or LinkedIn!